Skip to content

Musica for your week: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

March 28, 2011

I’d say my 2nd love in life is music. Not in the “I want to make music” sense, but in that music just reaches to my soul. I had even considered going to college to get a degree to be that person who selects the music for movies, shows etc. as the music playing can make or break a scene.

In high school I would go to the local Borders Books and Music and spend a few hours there, just listening to different music they had featured. When I saw a movie that had an amazing score/soundtrack, I’d head straight to the store to buy it. I ended up working at BBM in college, and I am now the proud owner of at LEAST 2000 cds. At least.

I thought I’d start a little feature here on music, since it is so close to my heart.

I’ll start first with my longest held consistent musician love: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers.

I first heard of Tom Petty when I was in 6th grade I believe. There was a particular boy I had a crush on, and one day he and another friend brought up Tom Petty. This was back in the days of those mailers from Columbia where you can get a certain number of free cds but you have to commit to buy more later, or whatev the deal was. The next time got one of those in the mail, I got as many Tom Petty cd’s as I could and they had. From there, a love affair was born. :P

My all time favorite is Mary Janes Last Dance:

Another fave, this will get you in a fantabulous mood any time of day. Just try listening and not rocking out. Runnin’ Down a Dream:

I have been to see Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers more times than I can count. I have, however, keep track of how many states I’ve seen them in: 5.

Milwaukee, Wisconsin at Summerfest. This is where I’ve seen them the most, having grown up an hour south. This also, is by FAR, the best show I’ve seen them put on. There’s something about the atmosphere that just makes their shows here unbelievable. Every. Time.

San Antonio, Texas. As my graduation gift from high school from my parents, my mom, sister, cousin, then boyfriend and myself took a trip down to Texas to see them on tour.

Saratoga Springs, New York. A few years back my step-sister Mac and I took a road trip planned around seeing them in SS, NY. We flew into Boston a few days before the concert, road tripped up, went to Montreal, then back down through Vermont and Maine. This was an…interesting show. I feel like they had the craziest fans up there. Bonus, Stevie Nicks joined them on-stage to perform and it was awesome.

Atlanta, Georgia. My fiance and I drove up from Orlando when we were living there, it was his first time seeing them, and I’d say it won him over.

Tampa, Florida. I flew down to FL after having moved back up north to go see them with Mac again. This was probably, ok, not probably, this was my worst concert experience with them. 1st, it was indoors. No Bueno. 2nd, we were easily the youngest fans in our section by 30 years, and if I remember correctly, many of them didn’t feel like standing up.

If you’re new to Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, and want to get a taste, I’d say check out their Greatest Hits Album and Wildflowers.

There’s some music to get you through the week. Enjoy!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mac permalink
    March 28, 2011 9:45 pm

    if I remember correctly, the old people in Tampa even asked us to sit down when we tried standing up!! :P I think that was the worst concert venue I’ve ever been to. Totally agree about summerfest. We could tell even they enjoyed themselves more when they played there. :) love the new addition to your blog! :)

    • barknutimages permalink*
      March 29, 2011 11:40 am

      Haha, That’s right!!!!! Too funny!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

